Our Mission

The Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies (IIS) is a body of professors, researchers and students who promote philosophical and interdisciplinary reflection on recent advances in science.

The IIS addresses crucial questions at the boundary of science, anthropology, and theology.


The IIS was started by the Swiss quantum physicist Antoine Suarez in 1989. Major contributions have been made by Massimiliano Berti, Vuko Brigljevic, Louis Cardona, Lorenzo De Vittori, Luca Di Rienzo, Alfred Driessen, Dermot Grenham, Joachim Huarte, Mark Fox, Andrea Manazza, Alberto Ribera, Juleon Schins and Lukas Wick.

executive committee

Alfred Driessen (Emeritus University of Twente, Amsterdam)
Ignasi Fainé (Fondation du Léman, Geneva)

Alex Jordan (Netherhall House, London)
Jean-David Ponci (Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies, Geneva)
Antoine Suarez (Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies, Zurich), chair

scientific committee

Peter Adams (Thomas More Institute, London)
Massimiliano Berti (SISSA, Trieste)
Paul Shrimpton (Magdalen College School, Oxford)
Vuko Brigljevic (Rudjer Boskovic Institute, Zagreb; CERN, Geneva)
Alfred Driessen (Emeritus University of Twente, Amsterdam)
Mark Fox (University of Sheffield, Manchester)
Ilyas Khan (Cambridge Quantum Computing, Cambridge UK)
Genaro Luise (Pontifical University of the Holy Cross, Rome)
Antoine Suarez (Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies, Zurich)